NANOWRIMO, I’m Back!

I planned to participate in NANOWRIMO and PIBOIDMO this month. Nanowrimo is an international event wherein people write a novel within a month. They do a daily word count and try to reach a total of 50,000 works. I’ve participated twice, successfully. Piboidmo is a spinoff of this event wherein people try to come up with a picture book idea every single day. I have participated once. You might think that’s easy compared to writing thousands of words, but it’s challenging in a different way.

Well, I have a bit of a reprieve because Piboidmo has been moved to January. So now my family is going to have to put up with two months of me saying, “Wait, stop talking. I have an idea I have to write down.”

I am, however, cheating a bit with NANOWRIMO. I have a manuscript I worked on for four years and haven’t touched for a year. I’m going to take it out, read through it, and rethink the plot. Then I’m going to do a brand-new outline. At that point I will go through the text and what out but I don’t want and make notes on what I want to add or put back in. Then, I will start on page 1 and rewrite the whole thing. However, I am sure that there will be good chunks I can keep.

If I’m not following the rules, why participate at all? It’s because of the time limit and the environment. When writing a novel, I can become completely immersed. Knowing this is only one month can help me, and my family, remain sane. It is also really great to have an environment of writers going through much the same thing. NANOWRIMO provides constant encouragement and stimulation for participants. It’s almost like going on a retreat but you don’t have to get out of your pajamas.

So wish me luck. I’ll still be on my blog. I have posts scheduled for the month and will be checking in for comments and feedback. If you’re a writer, it’s not too late to sign up. Maybe I’ll see you there.

Go to NANOWRIMO for information.

 

Click on the cover for more info or to buy the book.

 

 

Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages

 

6 thoughts on “NANOWRIMO, I’m Back!

Please Leave a Reply in the comment section.

