Hubbell, Patricia. I Like Cats. Illustrated by Pamela Paparone.

Click here to buy I Like Cats

I suspected I was going to love this book the minute I opened it. Inside the front and back covers are dozens of white faces drawn on a black background. The title page has full-color faces of cats named Lord Buttons, Otto, Midnight, Romeo, etc. Every one is endearing in its own way.

The book begins, “I like cats.” A little boy is giving a saucer of milk to a striped cat while eight others approach. On the next page the text reads, “Thin cats, fat cats, curl-up-in-my-hat cats.” A full-color double spread shows a heavy cat licking the face of the thin Siamese cat while another one sits in a gentleman’s hat. The next page says, “White cats, black cats, sneak-a-little-snack cats.” A bug eyed fish on a platter stares at a grinning white cat while a black cat peaks over the table ledge and pulls a shrimp toward him with his paw.

The rhythm is flawless. It is so refreshing to see a rhyming book that works so well. The reader could imagine singing the text or putting it to a rap beat.

The pictures are big, vivid, and cute. The book is a charming, funny tribute to cats, perfect for any cat lover and engaging for children from 1-10.

It ends, “I like cats, it’s plain to see. I like cats – and cats like me!” And I do, but even if I didn’t, I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who does.


Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages