Melling, David. Just Like My Dad. Book Review.

Click here to buy Just Like My Dad by Melling, David (2010) Board book

This short, simple board book is both funny and sweet. On each page a lion cub explains how he is just like his dad. The adoration and affection between the two of them is apparent in both words and illustrations. There are moments of humor that seem aimed toward the adult reader, such as “and when I lie around being lazy, my mom says… ‘You’re just like your dad!'” The overall message is that although father lion isn’t perfect, he’s everything a little cub would want in a dad.

The illustrations are predominantly brown/orange on white backgrounds and feature the lion cub and his father in humorous situations.

This would be a delightful book to give a dad on Father’s Day or for a boy on his birthday.


Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages

One thought on “Melling, David. Just Like My Dad. Book Review.

Comments are closed.