Dean, James. Pete the Cat Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star. Book Review.

Click here to buy Pete the Cat: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

My granddaughter’s favorite song is Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star. She also loves cats so I thought this book would quickly become a favorite. She was fairly attentive during the first reading but hasn’t shown any interest in since.

Pete the cat is a cute, but fairly stagnant character in the illustrations. He seriously lacks expression as do the other cats. I was surprised to find this book is part of a series as the characters seem to lack sparkle.

The alternative versus were interesting but sometimes the rhyme is forced as in, “When the blazing sun is gone, When he nothing shines upon,” and “In the dark blue sky you keep, And often through my curtains peep”. This poetic style doesn’t seem to fit with the original words and the childlike illustrations.

I was left feeling fairly ambivalent about this picture book and my granddaughter seems to feel the same way.


Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages