Church, Caroline Jayne. Good night, I Love You. Book Review.

Click here to buy Goodnight, I Love You

I did not want to return this board book to the library because my one-and-a-half-year-old granddaughter loved it so much. I plan to buy a copy for her.

The cute double page spread colored illustrations feature a little boy with his teddy bear and a little girl with her bunny as they prepare for bed. They bathe, brush their teeth, put on their pajamas, and read a story before putting out the light. The last page says, “I love you, good night” which my granddaughter began to say with me.

This is a rhyming book that works. It begins “It’s time for bed, so let’s get ready. Bring your bunny. Bring your Teddy.” The rhythm and rhyme are constant throughout. The vocabulary is simple but also introduces the words scrub and squeaky.

There is a feeling of gentle warmth in both the illustrations and text. The children are happy and loved. This is a perfect bedtime story for your toddler.


Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages

One thought on “Church, Caroline Jayne. Good night, I Love You. Book Review.

Comments are closed.