Picture Book You’ve Always Wanted


So, it’s day 17 of PiBoIdMo, a spinoff of NaNoWriMo. I participated in NaNoWriMo twice in the past, an event wherein people try to write the first rough draft of a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. This year I decided to try PiBoIdMo since my days are pretty busy babysitting my little granddaughter and I’ve been focusing this year on creating picture books. Picture Book Idea Month couldn’t be that hard, could it? Every day, I must come up with an idea for a new picture book. Sounds simple. Ha!

Fortunately, just as I hit a wall, today’s blog from Writing For Kids While Raising Them http://taralazar.com/2014/11/17/piboidmo-day-17-deborah-underwood/#comment-86759 gave me a great idea for how to get great ideas. Ask.

So, for you parents, grandparents, and teachers out there, this is your moment to put a bug in a writer’s ear. What topics have you looked for in children’s picture books and being unable to find? What idea would you really love to see in a picture book? What type of books do your children or students search for and never find enough?
Tell me your ideas, no matter how small. It can be a title for a book, a concept, a character, a place, a question,… Whatever you’d like to see me try. So jump right in with your comments.

Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages