Hutchins, Chris and Peter Thompson. Diana’s Nightmare The Family. Book Review.

Click here to buy Diana’s Nightmare The Family

I received a paperback copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

First I should say I’m not the kind of person who enjoys gossip columns or tabloid magazines so perhaps I’m not the best person to review this book. I thought it was going to be about Princess Diana’s life. But, it was actually page after page of vicious gossip about anyone who was connected to Diana or Prince Charles. Everyone, including Diana, was maligned and judged with callous, even vicious eyes. The negative comments outweighed the positive ones by about 50 to 1.

If you followed British gossip, you might be familiar with all the people touched on in this novel. As a Canadian, while I have a passing knowledge of the Royal family, most of the people mentioned in this book were unknown to me. The text often wandered far from the topic of Diana.

With the title “Diana’s Nightmare The Family” I expected to come away with more compassion and understanding for the trials and tribulations the People’s Princess suffered. Instead, this book painted will her as a conniving, shallow, selfish b**ch.

The cover is amateurish. While a lovely photo of Diana is the central focus, the words “Diana’s Nightmare” are almost invisible being a combination of black with a light drop shadow on a black background.
I did not enjoy reading this book and had to force myself to keep picking it up. I felt ashamed to be reading such personal, embarrassing, and cruel remarks about the Princess as well as other people I knew nothing about. However, if you’re tabloid reader with a good understanding of English high society, this might be the book for you.


Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages


One thought on “Hutchins, Chris and Peter Thompson. Diana’s Nightmare The Family. Book Review.

Comments are closed.