Negative Reviews Aren’t Worth the Risk

There have been several incidents of reviewers being stalked by mentally unstable authors. The worst I’ve had is an angry email but that made me conscious of how easy it is for people to track me down. One of the more horrific incidents is explained here.


Because of this, I have decided to change my policy regarding book reviews. From now on, only books with a three to five star rating will appear on my blog. I realize it’s a bit like giving into terrorism. Large numbers of indie authors will continue to produce crap and have their friends and family rave about it on Amazon. However, I’m too old and move too slow to be a whistle-blower.

I have reviews in the queue until the middle of December. I am not going to erase the negative ones but I won’t write any new ones.

As an author myself, I feel anger and shame that other authors feel justified in taking aggressive action against reviewers. I am just as appalled by the number of people who say the violence or verbal abuse is justified against “bully” reviewers.

I still feel I can provide a valuable service by pointing readers toward good books. I hope you will continue to follow my blog.


After time, I have decided to continue calling them as I see them.

Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages


4 thoughts on “Negative Reviews Aren’t Worth the Risk

  1. Thanks, Bonnie, for sharing this information. If I might make a suggestion, you might want to warn your readers that the link you provided shows some graphic photos of a wound. I’m not squeamish about these things, but it definitely caught me off guard to see such an up close picture. Would you mind letting people know?

    Thanks for raising awareness about this. I appreciate it.


Comments are closed.