Submit Your Unpublished Children’s Book for Feedback

I will critique an unpublished picture book, maximum 34 pages. I was a teacher-librarian for 10 years and an elementary school teacher for 23. I have always had a passion for children’s books and, after early retirement, finally have the time to write my own. I believe examining the work of others, even if it is not polished, can be a learning experience for me as well as of benefit to the writer. I will give a maximum of three suggestions for improvement.

Here are the guidelines for this opportunity. I may tweak them as I go along, but for now:

Submit one unpublished picture book or the first five pages of a short story or novel for children.

 One piece of work will be selected per week for analysis on my blog.

 Submission does not guarantee your work will be selected.

 You must be willing to have selections from your work cited on my blog.

 This will be a criticism, not an ego boost. I will give a maximum of three suggestions. If you’re looking for a pat on the back, don’t submit. If you’re looking for helpful, honest feedback, this is for you. You must be willing to accept my responses with grace. Do not write back to me defending your work or attacking me. If you do, I may decide to publish your unprofessional response for the world to see. (My criticism is constructive. I am not mean. This is to be an engagement of mutual respect.)

 Take your time. I will only respond to your work once. Make sure it is the best piece of writing you can do before submitting.

Bonnie Ferrante: Books For All Ages